Sleep is very important to daily functions and overall wellness.

Why is sleep important to you?

Sleep is important to me because without an adequate amount of sleep I physically cannot function throughout the day. I am crabby, I’m unaware, I’m unfocused. I feel like my day is completely thrown off if I am lacking sleep.

Do you think that sleep should take priority over things such as work or school?

I think there should definitely be a balance. Not that one should be a priority over the other, but without a proper sleep schedule your work ethic isn’t going to be 100% and your input into your school work is going to slack. I think that work and school (mainly school) shouldn’t cut into your sleep schedule.

Discuss some of the common barriers that people may have to getting enough sleep and how they can fix those problems.

Cell phones-put your phone on your night stand, on silent, rather than sleeping with it in your bed.

Social media- don’t have your phone on your face for 15 minutes before bed with the bright light because it will make you not as tired.

Sleep with the TV off- so you aren’t waking up thinking someone is talking to you

Go to the restroom before you fall asleep so you aren’t interrupting your sleep by getting up in the middle of the night.

Time manage- we have busy lives, make sure to get your things done ahead of time so you are not up all night meeting due dates.

Do you think naps are something that people should do on a daily basis or only certain days?

I don’t think that a nap should be a daily thing. I think getting the right amount of sleep every night should be priority. Although, if you don’t get 8 hours or if you are up all night doing an assignment/studying I do think a nap is necessary. Or if you are feeling ill or need a quick recovery then take a nap, but don’t let it take up 3 hours of your day.

Scary Ways Technology Affects Your Sleep

http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2015/02/how-smartphones-are-ruining-our-sleep/385792/

“The average sleep requirement for college students is well over eight hours, and the majority of students would fall within the range of this value plus or minus one hour. If this amount is not obtained, a sleep debt is created. All lost sleep accumulates progressively as a larger and larger sleep indebtedness.”

http://lifehacker.com/how-long-to-nap-for-the-biggest-brain-benefits-1251546669

 

